[Previous entry: "Miller and Lee's CRYSTAL SOLDIER -- Enjoyed It, But... (Edith)"] [Main Index] [Next entry: "Lee and Miller's CRYSTAL SOLDIER--Thumbs Up (Suzanne)"]

04/06/2005 Entry: "Bujold Up for Hugo Award"

Irresistible Forces
The nominees are out for this year's prestigious Hugo awards. Romantic SF isn't as well represented as it was last year, but Lois McMaster Bujold's story "Winterfair Gifts" is a nominee for Best Novella. This long-anticipated story takes place during the wedding of Miles and Ekaterin. "Winterfair Gifts" was released in the recommended anthology IRRESISTIBLE FORCES, edited by Catherine Asaro. The winners will be announced on 7 August 2005 in Glasgow as part of the annual World Science Fiction Convention. Bujold has previously won four Hugos and two Nebulas for books and stories in the Miles Vorkosigan series.

--A CIVIL CAMPAIGN review page (about Miles' courtship of his future wife)

The complete list of 2005 nominees:

Best Novel (424 nominating ballots)

* The Algebraist by Iain M. Banks (Orbit)
* Iron Council by China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan)
* Iron Sunrise by Charles Stross (Ace)
* Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury)
* River of Gods by Ian McDonald (Simon & Schuster)

Best Novella (249 nominating ballots)

* "The Concrete Jungle" by Charles Stross (The Atrocity Archives, Golden Gryphon Press)
* "Elector" by Charles Stross (Asimov’s 09/04)
* "Sergeant Chip" by Bradley Denton (Fantasy & Science Fiction 09/04)
* "Time Ablaze" by Michael A. Burstein (Analog 06/04)
* "Winterfair Gifts" by Lois McMaster Bujold (Irresistible Forces NAL)

Best Novelette (215 nominating ballots)

* "Biographical Notes to ‘A Discourse on the Nature of Causality, with Air-Planes’ by Benjamin Rosenbaum" by Benjamin Rosenbaum (All-Star Zeppelin Adventure Stories Wheatland)
* "The Clapping Hands of God" by Michael F. Flynn (Analog 07-08/04)
* "The Faery Handbag" by Kelly Link (The Faery Reel Viking)
* "The People of Sand and Slag" by Paolo Bacigalupi (Fantasy & Science Fiction 02/04)
* "The Voluntary State" by Christopher Rowe (Sci Fiction, scifi.com 5/5/04)

Best Short Story (269 nominating ballots)

* "The Best Christmas Ever" by James Patrick Kelly (Sci Fiction, scifi.com 5/26/04)
* "Decisions" by Michael A. Burstein (Analog 01-02/04)
* "A Princess of Earth" by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s 12/04)
* "Shed Skin" by Robert J. Sawyer (Analog 01-02/04)
* "Travels with My Cats" by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s 02/04)

Best Related Book (263 nominating ballots)

* The Best of Xero by Pat and Dick Lupoff (Tachyon Publications)
* The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction ed. by Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press)
* Dancing Naked: The Unexpurgated William Tenn, Volume 3 by William Tenn (NESFA Press)
* Futures: 50 Years in Space: The Challenge of the Stars by David A. Hardy and Patrick Moore (AAPPL; Harper Design International)
* With Stars in My Eyes: My Adventures in British Fandom by Peter Weston (NESFA Press)

Best Dramatic Presentation - Long Form (340 nominating ballots)

* Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (Focus Features) Story by Charlie Kaufman & Michael Gondry & Pierre Bismuth; Screenplay by Charlie Kaufman; Directed by Michael Gondry.
* Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Warner Brothers) Written by Steve Kloves; Based on the novel by J.K. Rowling; Directed by Alfonso Cuarón.
* The Incredibles (Walt Disney Pictures / Pixar Animation Studios) Written & Directed by Brad Bird
* Sky Captain and The World of Tomorrow (Paramount Pictures) Written & Directed by Kerry Conran
* Spider-Man 2 (Sony Pictures Entertainment / Columbia Pictures) Screen Story by Alfred Gough & Miles Millar and Michael Chabon; Screenplay by Alvin Sargent; Based on the comic book by Stan Lee & Steve Ditko; Directed by Sam Raimi

Best Dramatic Presentation - Short Form (161 nominating ballots)

* Heroes Part 1 & 2 - Stargate SG-1 (MGM Television / The Sci Fi Channel) Written by Robert C. Cooper; Directed by Andy Mikita
* Not Fade Away - Angel (20th Century Fox Television / Mutant Enemy) Written by Jeffrey Bell & Joss Whedon; Directed by Jeffrey Bell
* Pilot Episode - Lost (Touchstone Television / Bad Robot) Story by Jeffrey Lieber and J.J. Abrams & Damon Lindelof; Teleplay by J.J. Abrams & Damon Lindelof; Directed by: J.J. Abrams
* Smile Time – Angel (20th Century Fox Television / Mutant Enemy) Story by Joss Whedon & Ben Edlund; Teleplay by Ben Edlund; Directed by Ben Edlund
* 33 - Battlestar Galactica (NBC Universal Television / The Sci Fi Channel) Written by Ronald D. Moore; Directed by Michael Rymer

Best Professional Editor (296 nominating ballots)

* Ellen Datlow
* Gardner Dozois
* David G. Hartwell
* Stanley Schmidt
* Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist (232 nominating ballots)

* Jim Burns
* Bob Eggleton
* Frank Kelly Freas
* Donato Giancola
* John Picacio

Best Semiprozine (238 nominating ballots)

* Ansible ed. by David Langford
* Interzone ed. by David Pringle and Andy Cox
* Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
* The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell and Kevin J. Maroney
* The Third Alternative ed. by Andy Cox

Best Fan Writer (241 nominating ballots)

* Claire Brialey
* Bob Devney
* David Langford
* Cheryl Morgan
* Steven H Silver

Best Fanzine (218 nominating ballots)

* Banana Wings ed. by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
* Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III
* Chunga ed. by Randy Byers, Andy Hooper and Carl Juarez
* Emerald City ed. by Cheryl Morgan
* Plokta ed. by Alison Scott, Steve Davies and Mike Scott

Best Fan Artist (179 nominating ballots)

* Brad Foster
* Teddy Harvia
* Sue Mason
* Steve Stiles
* Frank Wu

Best Web Site (311 nominating ballots)

* eFanzines (www.efanzines.com) ed. by Bill Burns
* Emerald City (www.emcit.com) ed. by Cheryl Morgan
* Locus Online (www.locusmag.com) ed. by Mark R. Kelly
* SciFiction (www.scifi.com/scifiction) ed. by Ellen Datlow, Craig Engler, general manager
* Strange Horizons (www.strangehorizons.com) Susan Marie Groppi, editor-in-chief

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (187 nominating ballots) (Not a Hugo Award – an award for best new science fiction writer of the past two years, sponsored by Dell Magazines and administered by the current Worldcon committee.)

* Elizabeth Bear (second year of eligibility)
* K.J. Bishop (second year of eligibility)
* David Moles (second year of eligibility)
* Chris Roberson (second year of eligibility)
* Steph Swainston (first year of eligibility)

The 2005 World Science Fiction Convention, known as Interaction, will take place in Glasgow, UK from 4-8 August 2005. For more information about how the Hugos and Campbell work, go to the Interaction website.

Back to Top | About Us